New Years Resolutions

The practice of making New Year’s resolutions can be traced back to 2nd Century B.C Rome. Today, the most common resolutions include quitting smoking, losing weight, and getting physically fit.

Puritan Jonathan Edwards made resolutions throughout his life that are still remembered and admired today, three centuries later. If you are still in search of resolutions for 2009, try some of Edwards on for size:

1. Resolved, to study the Scriptures so steadily, constantly, and frequently, as that I may find, and plainly perceive myself to grow in the knowledge of the same.

2. Resolved, never to do any manner of thing, but what tends to the glory of God.

3. Resolved, never to lose one moment of time; but improve it the most profitable way I possibly can.

4. Resolved, to live with all my might, while I do live.

5. Resolved, never to do any thing out of revenge.

6. Resolved, never to speak evil of anyone.

7. Resolved, that I will live so, as I shall wish I had done when I come to die.

Leave a Reply

